6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club

6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club (https://6066gmcclub.com/index.php)
-   GMC V6 and V12 Engines (https://6066gmcclub.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Gmc V12 in trucks (https://6066gmcclub.com/showthread.php?t=49694)

1960gmcv12 November 2nd, 2016 05:19 AM

Gmc V12 in trucks

I'm a newbie but did gmc actually put V12 in trucks I've never seen a pic of one in a truck

bobdylan November 2nd, 2016 01:12 PM

Re: Gmc V12 in trucks

Yes, 7000 series trucks, minuteman missile transporter, fire trucks.

GMCDAC November 3rd, 2016 01:05 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Since I have this in one of my photo collections here's a pic of the GMC MinuteMan Missle transporter. I remember seeing them many times around here back in the day.

DAC

bobdylan November 3rd, 2016 04:18 AM

I know a guy that has three of the transporter tractors, I was going to buy a v12 out of one with 10k miles. I thought about buying the tractor but ,not sure what I would do with it. He changed the gearing so you can run down the highway65+ before 45 mph was tops.

1960gmcv12 November 3rd, 2016 05:18 AM

Where they common in more mainstream gmc heavy truck like tractor trailers

BobBray November 3rd, 2016 08:34 AM

Wouldn't say they were real common in over-the-road trucks, but they were out there. Kingsway up in Canada ran them for many years:

http://www.hankstruckpictures.com/kingsway.htm

I think Texaco and/or Mobil used them to pull tankers as well. Regardless, I think a lot of the V-12 powered trucks ended up as fire apparatus, where large gasoline engines were favored over diesels until the 70's.

turbobill November 4th, 2016 12:11 AM

Our county had 5 tandem dump trucks (65's) WITH V12'S

bobdylan November 4th, 2016 12:30 AM

Are there any pictures floating around?

BillT December 13th, 2016 11:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bobdylan (Post 64542)
Are there any pictures floating around?

There are some online.

Just google 702 V-12 GMC and hit Images.