6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club

6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club (https://6066gmcclub.com/index.php)
-   Interiors, Dash, Lights and Electrical (https://6066gmcclub.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   No spark (https://6066gmcclub.com/showthread.php?t=50084)

GTS61 July 9th, 2017 02:49 AM

No spark

I'm working on my pickup, doing body work and painting and the truck has been sitting for about 2 years while I do this. I also installed a Vintage Air ac. Well I put the battery back in because I wanted to move it and it turns over really good but won't start. I think I tried almost everything I've read on hear but what I'm wondering is since I installed the Vintage Air and didn't need any power from the old heater and that maybe I need to hook up the old heater wire harness to something or maybe something else. Any idea's would greatly be appreciated!! I am not a mechanic as you can see. I do have power to the coil. Nothing else was done to the truck motor since I drove it in to the garage except new points.

Greg

AZKen July 9th, 2017 04:26 AM

Re: No spark

Well since you have new points, you need to check the 1.gap. Who did the points? You need to 2.check spark at a spark plug and you need to see if 3.gas is squirting inside carb. What does it do? Fire? no fire at all and no back fire? These are the basics of "was running now no start". Spark and gas.... There are a dozen things it could be. 4.Does coil have power during cranking? You don't have to be a mechanic, just mechanically/electrically inclined. You must have some basic knowledge if you have tried "almost everything". Let us know what that means specifically.
5.So..Running into the garage, then AC and points? then no start? Troubleshooting 101: S.O.E.= Sequence Of Events. Then test per that. It does seem like electrical/ignition/miswire, as you suspect, but don't want to marry that yet.

jimjaz July 9th, 2017 12:21 PM