6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club Bitcoin now accepted here! 
Pay Dues
Pay Dues or become a Site Supporter

Go Back   6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club > 6066 GMC Truck Club Forum > GMC V6 and V12 Engines

GMC V6 and V12 Engines Engine repair and rebuilding

Old August 22nd, 2017, 01:18 AM
-= Site Supporter =-

Truck: 1961 1500 Stepside
Jmclendon is just really niceJmclendon is just really niceJmclendon is just really niceJmclendon is just really nice
Question Impact of low dwell

Hello all,
I've just had a tinker with my dwell (don't laugh, but it was an exciting moment for me as I'm a complete novice to this kind of stuff).

It was at 25. I've adjusted it to 32. My question is, would 25 have been low enough to notice issues with performance etc..?

Also, if I understand it correctly by increasing the dwell I've increased the length of time that the points stay closed. This should (I think?) result in a better spark and (hopefully) a better burn?

If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome. I'm a bit of a sucker when it comes to learning new things. So please don't worry about over explaining LOL
Old August 29th, 2017, 08:01 PM

Truck: I don't own one - YET!
POWERSTROKE is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Impact of low dwell

Dwell angle is the degrees of rotation of the distributor shaft with the ignition points closed. The number should be as large as possible allowing the coil to have the most electricity possible so it creates the biggest hottest spark. By design, a 4 cylinder distributor has the highest dwell angle, a 6 cylinder next largest, and a V-8 the lowest.

So yes, working to get the dwell angle as high as possible in the range specified is worth the effort.