6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club Bitcoin now accepted here! 
Pay Dues
Pay Dues or become a Site Supporter

Go Back   6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club > 6066 GMC Truck Club Forum > GMC V6 and V12 Engines

GMC V6 and V12 Engines Engine repair and rebuilding

Old January 9th, 2015, 11:58 PM

Truck: 1965 GMC Fleetside Custom V6
cbs34 is on a distinguished road
Default Rebuild engine vs. Replace?

I have very little knowledge about these classic trucks so go easy on me.

I have a 1965 GMC Fleetside V6 3-speed manual. It's been in my family since it was new but has been sitting up for a number of years. All the pieces are there and everything is original. I would like to rehab it enough to drive it occasionally for fun. At a minimum, I think it would require the engine and transmission to be rebuilt, plus whatever suspension repairs would be required.

Questions for those in the know:

*Is it more cost effective to rebuild an older motor like this or should I look at buying a newer motor? If so, which motor? 5.7, 5.3?

*If I were to go with a newer motor, what do I need to look at with respect to compatibility with the transmission?

*Cost to rebuild the transmission?

I sincerely appreciate any help with this. Feel like I'm flying blind.
Old January 10th, 2015, 12:27 AM
-= Dues Paid =-

Truck: 1962 4x4 GMC CECILIA
FetchMeAPepsi is a glorious beacon of lightFetchMeAPepsi is a glorious beacon of lightFetchMeAPepsi is a glorious beacon of lightFetchMeAPepsi is a glorious beacon of lightFetchMeAPepsi is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Rebuild engine vs. Replace?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbs34 View Post
I have very little knowledge about these classic trucks so go easy on me.