6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club Bitcoin now accepted here! 
Pay Dues
Pay Dues or become a Site Supporter

Go Back   6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club > 6066 GMC Truck Club Forum > GMC V6 and V12 Engines

GMC V6 and V12 Engines Engine repair and rebuilding

Old May 2nd, 2013, 04:13 PM
-= Site Supporter =-

Truck: 1964 1502 Fenderside
Foley is on a distinguished road
Default Oil Pan removal

I'm new to V6 GMC's and have to replace the oil pan on my 305e. Doesn't look like it will hardly come out of there without pulling the engine. Do I have to remove the exhaust pipe yoke to get to those pan bolts? And is there enough room for it to slide out after that? Any magic tricks that I should know? Bob in Northern CA
Old May 2nd, 2013, 05:32 PM

Truck: 1963 K-1000 Sub, 1963 C-1000 Sub, 1965 C-1000 Sub
jimjaz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Oil Pan removal

Bob,

This might help answer your questions about oil pan clearance-
Mine's a 4-wheel drive, so there is really nothing in the way, like the crossmember.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_2205.jpg (96.8 KB, Multiple views, 20 clicks)
File Type: jpg 100_2206.jpg (97.8 KB, Multiple views, 16 clicks)
File Type: jpg 100_3378.jpg (91.8 KB, Multiple views, 14 clicks)

63 GMC K1000 Sub restored original
63 GMC C1000 Sub original
65 GMC C1000 Sub OEM modified
72 GMC 1500 Super Custom SWB original
Old May 3rd, 2013, 04:07 PM
-= Site Supporter =-

Nice pixs Jim. I wish this was a 4x4. On the 2wd the main front, bigol cross member sits right there across the middle of the oil pan about 2.5 inches below it. Now that all the pan bolts are out, it will only drop down a couple inches and not enough for it to clear at the back where the big ring gear sits. I was hoping somebody might have done this before and could provide me with some tips on the pan removal. Bob in northern CA
Old May 3rd, 2013, 06:21 PM

Truck: 1963 K-1000 Sub, 1963 C-1000 Sub, 1965 C-1000 Sub
jimjaz is on a distinguished road

Bob,