PDA

View Full Version : 305E starter part number

63burb
February 7th, 2014, 07:57 PM
I need to replace the starter on my 63 Burb but I am having trouble locating one here in the UK, does anyone have any part numbers I can cross over and hopefully source here in the UK?

tommyduncan
February 7th, 2014, 09:28 PM
I don't have a part but I think they are rebuildable. You might look into that. Brushes, bearings, etc are usually pretty common parts that aren't exclusive to a certain vehicle.

Rockdriller
February 8th, 2014, 05:56 AM
I need to replace the starter on my 63 Burb but I am having trouble locating one here in the UK, does anyone have any part numbers I can cross over and hopefully source here in the UK?

63burb...
I've been working on these for almost 40 years...(I was a factory trained "Mr Goodwrench" mechanic and worked in a GM Truck Shop from the mid-seventies till '81).
I know a couple tricks.
Were I you, I would get ahold of a starter from a big-block Chevy....Early seventies thru .....whenever...
If you are mechanically savvy you can do it. If not, find a local GM mechanic that has a clue.
You can dismantle the donor starter...clean it up, replace the brushes and bushings, get a new solenoid and abendix if needed...then bolt your end housing onto the BBC starter motor...and there ya go....(or ya can buy a rebuilt or new starter for a BBC, bolt your end housing onto it so you can cut to the chase)
Bolt her back together and you're golden.
You shouldn't even need to re-shim it.

The BBC starter has more windings in the field and the armature...resulting in more torque than the original.
It'll spin that 305 like Little Johnny trying to dodge Grannys wooden spoon.

63burb
February 9th, 2014, 10:28 PM
Thanks

63burb
April 17th, 2014, 09:19 PM