PDA

View Full Version : 1965 GMC Truck Ignition Switch

lwrdrhvn
February 27th, 2020, 07:49 PM
Hello!

I am stuck on finding an ignition switch for my car. When i go by vin or model number, the switch i get doesn't match up. Old project truck with probably a lot of history.

I am a rookie and learning as i go. Attached is a pic. Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

AZKen
February 27th, 2020, 08:07 PM
This (https://www.classicparts.com/1962-66-Ignition-Switch/productinfo/53-415/) and This. (https://www.classicparts.com/1947-66-Ignition-Switch-Cylinder-w_Key/productinfo/53-475/)
Also your truck is not referred to as a C1000 as you have it in your heading. From reading your posts, it would be a I1001 if you are sure it had a inline 6 and not a V6.
If the V8 runs good, leave it in.

lwrdrhvn
February 27th, 2020, 09:22 PM
Thanks for the info. I keep confusing the Chevy C series with just the GMC 1000 series. I do believe the engine was swapped out for an 8 cylinder and is no longer a V6.

lwrdrhvn
February 27th, 2020, 09:33 PM
I see the one you linked. However, i don't think that fits what i have going. I've purchased it and the terminal where it connects has 6 slots and the configuration doesn't go with the layout of that switch.

Maybe somebody did some crazy electrical work and switched it all out and left me to try to figure it out.

AZKen
February 27th, 2020, 11:56 PM
The ignition switch connector seems to have 6/7 contact receptacles. The New switch has 5. Only 4 or 5 are used. If the new switch fits onto the connector you show, you are half way there. There seems to be no other switch available to fit that connector and utilize it's locking tabs other than possibly a 67-72 era switch.
How many wires are coming off your connector from how many contacts?
Does the new switch fit onto the connector even though 2 contacts are not used?
If it does not, we can move to plan B and C. Not a serious problem.