6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club

6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club (https://6066gmcclub.com/index.php)
-   Interiors, Dash, Lights and Electrical (https://6066gmcclub.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Wiring rats nest (https://6066gmcclub.com/showthread.php?t=51171)

motolover July 17th, 2021 01:32 AM

Wiring rats nest

2 Attachment(s)
The previous owner really hacked up the wiring in my 66 gmc. I am a novice when it comes to wiring but I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction as to where the 2 purple wires that are twisted together go? Also it looks as if I am missing the tab in the bottom right of my fuse panel for a fuse to snap into?.

Funky61 July 17th, 2021 04:01 AM

Re: Wiring rats nest

Here is a 1965 schematic from the Jolly Disc that might help.

Neutral Safety Switch, top right, shows two VIOLET wires but only for automatic transmission

* I see that light Green wire is an add-on and not a color on the schematic color key

That is my guess and I hope someone else will chime in...

Good luck and let us know how you did.

https://i.postimg.cc/xC0BtBG5/1965-Diagram-lt1.jpg

James July 17th, 2021 09:57 AM

That missing tab goes to your dome/tail light. Do they work?

motolover July 17th, 2021 11:45 AM

The dome light is not hooked up and I have the box off so I have not been able to hook up the taillights. It has an automatic transmission, I am also fiddling around with the turn signal switch as my original one was bad so I had to get one from a 63 chevy that would work. I am trying to figure out that color wire on the 63 turn signal does what.

lizziemeister'sV6 July 17th, 2021 01:40 PM