6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club Bitcoin now accepted here! 
Pay Dues
Pay Dues or become a Site Supporter

Go Back   6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club > 6066 GMC Truck Club Forum > Interiors, Dash, Lights and Electrical

Interiors, Dash, Lights and Electrical Everything Inside

Old September 20th, 2016, 12:30 AM
-= Site Supporter =-

Truck: 1961 1500 Stepside
Jmclendon is just really niceJmclendon is just really niceJmclendon is just really niceJmclendon is just really nice
Default Turn Signal Issue

I've run a search through previous posts that others have made and haven't been able to find an answer. However, I'll apologize in advance if this is something that's been covered before.

When I first start driving, the turn signal works fine. After a few minutes (10 or so?) it stops blinking.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to electrical stuff. As far as I'm concerned electricity is magic. But, based on the symptoms and the little bit that I think I know about how the flasher works, I'm wondering if it's a case of just replacing the flasher and moving on?

If so, can I just put any non polarity specific 12V 2 pin flasher in its place? Or do I need to track down something more specific?

The reason why I ask that is I'm being quoted like $20 from a classic parts importer (I live in Australia), but I can get a stock standard Tridon replacement (which is what's currently in it) for like half the price.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is my first post. But, I'm sure I'll harass y'all quite a bit. Thanks!
Old September 21st, 2016, 02:10 PM

Truck: 1961 Suburban
bpmcgee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Turn Signal Issue

J,

This isn't something that I've tried, but knowing how simple the 60's electrical systems were, I believe that the generic flasher would work -- from an electrical point of view.

B
Old September 21st, 2016, 02:13 PM

Truck: 1963 K-1000 Sub, 1963 C-1000 Sub, 1965 C-1000 Sub
jimjaz is on a distinguished road