6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club Bitcoin now accepted here! 
Pay Dues
Pay Dues or become a Site Supporter

Go Back   6066 (1960-1966) GMC Truck Club > 6066 GMC Truck Club Forum > GMC V6 and V12 Engines

GMC V6 and V12 Engines Engine repair and rebuilding

Old August 8th, 2017, 01:53 PM

Truck: 1963 step side 1/2 ton
gwtaylor is on a distinguished road
Default What type engine?

I am new at this so forgive the stupid questions. I recently obtained a 1963 GMC 1//2 ton step-side, manual trans. Looking at the engine its a V-6. The engine numbers are '305E234776". I am told this is the "E" model 305 yet when I look at all the various GMC/Chevy manuals I purchased they list two v 6's, the 230 and 292. I was told the 305 is the standard engine. What am I interpreting that is wrong? Which engine do I have? I am sure I will need to repair and even rebuild this engine so I need to know what I have. Forgive my ignorance.
Old August 8th, 2017, 02:21 PM

Truck: 1968 KM2500
bigblockv6 will become famous soon enoughbigblockv6 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: What type engine?

You have the GMC 305E V6, the 230 and 292 are not a V6 . These are Chevrolet engines they are inline sixes and should be listed as L6. In 63 the 305E was the standard engine exclusive in light duty GMC trucks and Chevrolet engines were not yet integrated in the line up other than in Step Vans.
Old August 8th, 2017, 05:39 PM
-= Dues Paid =-

Truck: 1962, 1965, 1967
Ed Snyder has a spectacular aura aboutEd Snyder has a spectacular aura aboutEd Snyder has a spectacular aura aboutEd Snyder has a spectacular aura aboutEd Snyder has a spectacular aura aboutEd Snyder has a spectacular aura about

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwtaylor View Post
I recently obtained a 1963 GMC 1/2 ton step-side, manual trans. Looking at the engine its a V-6. The engine numbers are "305E234776". I am sure I will need to repair and even rebuild this engine so I need to know what I have.